Romanesque from Barruera

From the ninth century on the southern slope of the Pyrenees, the territory was organized into counties dependent on the Frankish kingdom, within the Hispanic Marca. During the 10th century, the Catalan counties gradually disassociated themselves from the Carolingian Empire until they achieved political and religious independence.

The Vall de Boí was part of one of these counties: Pallars-Ribagorça, attached to the house of Tolosa until the end of the 9th century. With the independence of the county begins a complex process of political and religious control of the territory that ends with the division of the original county into three new independent counties: Ribagorça, Pallars Jussà and Pallars Sobirà and with the creation of a new diocese: El bishopric of Roda.

The Vall de Boí is in the middle of this process. In the first territorial division it had remained within the territory of La Ribagorça, but, from 1025, it became part of the Pallars Jussà, and for much of the 11th century it was immersed in the county struggles between the two Pallars. At the same time, in the middle of the 10th century, the churches in the valley, which originally belonged to the diocese of Urgell, became dependent on the diocese of Roda. The creation of this new diocese began a period of disputes between the two bishoprics. The Vall de Boí is also in the middle of this conflict as shown by the act of consecration that Ramon Guillem, bishop of Roda Barbastre, had painted in a column of Sant Climent de Taüll in 1123 as a sign of control of the territories.

A few years later, in 1140, the concord between the two bishoprics was signed. Most of the parishes in the Vall de Boí belong to the diocese of Urgell, only the Assumpció de Cóll will remain dependent on Roda Barbastre.

Coses a Fer

Scroll to Top
Open chat
Hola Tens alguna pregunta?